Trafficking/Prostitution

I Can Be Soft-Spoken or I Can Be a Pit Bull

In Choice, Chong Kim on 2012/03/03 at 6:41 am

eden movie, chong kim, human trafficking, jamie chung, prostitution, exploitation

On March 11, 2012 Eden, the movie based on the life story of trafficking survivor and activist Chong Kim, premieres at the South by Southwest festival in Austin, TX.  Chong is such an amazing, encouraging and brilliant woman.  She inspires trafficking survivors every day.  I can’t wait to see Eden.  I know it will have great impact worldwide — just like Chong.  She’s the kind of person who makes you smile and feel thankful when you think of her.  Chong recently wrote of on how she feels about herself, her life as a survivor activist, and her impending fame on her blog Face of Tears.  Here’s an excerpt:

When I look at my life today, being a mother, wife and activist my schedule is already busy as it is and I truly enjoy my “down” time, I can’t imagine a more hectic life then what I’m going through right now. My film, “Eden” is expected to be released this year according to the IMDB and since the announcement of Jamie Chung starring in my film, I’ve received so many contacts, letters, admirers and etc. I am however pleased to receive any letters of those who send sincere thanks and admiration, but what does annoy me is when, all they want to do is talk about the film, the cast or when they can get involved in this entourage of my public life? That is how you know they know nothing about you. I seperate people I “network” with verses people I consider my personal friends. I don’t mind collaborating and networking with other organizations, but if you haven’t reached out to me before “Eden” became an existence and I’ve written to you before, what makes you think you’re invited to network with me now? I don’t care to have an entourage of people to follow me, unless they want to admire the REAL me. I am very outspoken, I don’t back down just because you or I disagree with each other nor will I refuse to silent my voice, feelings or emotions. I can be very soft spoken or I can be a pitbull, it’s all in how you approach me. I don’t like to be told what to do, what to say and who to be. I don’t want to change who I am and I don’t ever want to forget where I came from, but most of all I hate conformiity we don’t have to have the same belief, politics, or lifestyle, I can get along with almost anyone. I don’t care where you come from, I just want to know where you are going, you’re not obligated to explain your past I want to know what you are willing to do about it and if you’ve been hurting, what methods have you tried in coping your pain or to find resilience, serenity and free from bitter and anger? I have always been a fighter and I don’t mean in a steel armor and a long sphere running down the field just for a kill, I mean a fighter in form of not giving up in speaking, loving, adoring and saving those who give me just a glance of their cry for freedom.

Read more

Read an article about the movie Eden in Audrey magazine

Copyright © 2012 Chong Kim, All Rights Reserved

  1. Chong, the movie is the pale reflection, like the Moon, and you are the living fire, the Sun. I’m sure the movie is great, but the living breathing person you are is so much more important. When I get annoyed I try to remember that line from Le Femme Nikita: “I never let the little things, bother me”. People that would rather know the movie than the real you, are focusing on the little things, so please don’t let it bother you.

  2. [...] I Can Be Very Soft-Spoken or I Can Be a Pit Bull (survivorsconnect.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

